J.D. Crowe and the New South

J.D. Crowe and the New South

J.D. Crowe and the New South

Born in 1937 in Lexington, Kentucky, the birthplace state of bluegrass music, J.D. Crowe had his eyes set on a musical career early on. His virtuosity for playing the banjo won him a spot in the Sunny Mountain Boys with Jimmy Martin and he stayed with the band for four years. He recorded a total number of 33 songs with Decca Records while he was a member of Martin’s group.

Crowe created his own band, the Kentucky Mountain Boys, in the late 1960’s. Most of his band’s performances took place in his hometown. In the following decade, Crowe renamed his band as the New South and became a strong presence in the bluegrass scene.

Years with The New South

The member lineup of the New South, which is also popularly referred to as 0044 for its catalog number, frequently changes but it once included the likes of Tony Rice, Doyle Lawson, and Ricky Skaggs. Crowe’s music and that of his band are best known for constantly reshaping the form and style of bluegrass music as well as their impressive ability to perform both classic and contemporary bluegrass music.

Other notable members of Crowe’s band include the likes of Phil Leadbetter, Keith Whitley (responsible for adding a Honky Tonk feel to the band’s music), and Richard Bennett.

In the 1990’s, Crowe showed signs of settling into retirement but soon came bursting back in the music scene with one of the most powerful lineups for his New South band. Today, the band is made up of Dwight McCall (mandolin and vocals), Ricky Wasson (guitar, vocals, and MC), and Kyle Perkins (upright bass) and Matt DeSpain (Dobro and vocals), both of which had joined the band in 2010.

Today, J.D. Crowe and the New South continue to perform on tours as well being a frequent performer in numerous bluegrass festivals.

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: